SRSLY: Pink Dandy

This is an old review I did for the old Geek Chic Cosmetics blog, but I felt like it fit better here.  And this is a company I love!  They have the only facial moisturizer I will use besides Na-PCA, so I guess it’s a ‘Holy Grail’ product of sorts.

I was going to place another order a while ago, but they were moving locations.  Everything is back up now, so check it out!  As soon as I get over my financial aid experience from hell, I plan on placing another order.

—-

A few weeks ago after hearing about them in a giveaway, I placed an order with Pink Dandy, a bath and beauty store on Etsy. Everything is fairly affordable and not pricey at all. Shipping is reasonable at 3.50 for the US, and 5.00 for Canada. 10.50 for other international orders! Pink Dandy carries a wide variety of product: facial care products, lotions, bath bombs, whips, candles, shampoo/conditioner… and the list goes on. I picked up a few products on a whim, and was happily surprised.  I have fairly sensitive skin and drugstore products tend to only exacerbate the issue.

(Unrelated, but one of the only products that I swear by from a store is Desert Essence: Facial Cleansing Pads. I have very acne prone skin that likes to freak out on me, and this stuff is… godly. It’s also good if you have a problem with dead skin cells. Seriously, I thought I got all my makeup off and then used one of these and got a bunch of gunk off my face. Ew.)

Store:

5/5

It’s Etsy, so the store looked clean and nice.  Everything was laid out in reasonable manner, and check-out was simple. I was personally very impressed with the photos of the products… very professional.  But that’s probably because I’m so awful at photography.  (EASILY IMPRESSED <.<) Everything that I ordered is vegan and all natural.

I bought three things: Pumpkin Glycolic Acid Facial Peel, Citrus Zest Face Cream, and an Organic Strawberry and Coconut Cream Face Mask.

Shipping:

5/5

Everything arrived very quickly, I was very surprised! I had ordered from another store on Etsy, and it took ages… so I guess I had some sort of bias. But everything arrived in about a week, a long with a free sample of a body lotion (that my hands loved!), and a coupon for 10% off if I ordered again within a specific time period. Everything was very nicely wrapped, no spills or anything of that nature.

Formula:

5/5

FACE CREAM:

Ingredients: Purified Water, Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia Chinensis), Evening Primrose Oil (Oenothera Biennis), Emulsifying Wax NF, Palm Stearic Acid, Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis), Essential Oils of: Lemon Peel (Citrus Medica Limonum), Sweet Orange (Citrus Sinensis), Grapefruit (Citrus Paradise), phenonip.

I have been looking for a good face-cream for a long time. I go to stores searching for them and have a hard time even finding a face cream, yet even one that works. What attracted me to the cream is that it said it’s good for acne breakouts. I often have problems using moisturizers on my face as they tend to have some ingredient in them without fail that makes me break out worse. This one did not. It’s a very lightweight cream, and you don’t need much of it to keep your face moisturized. I use it once in the morning, and once before I go to sleep and my face feels soft all day and doesn’t dry out. It isn’t greasy at all. It also has a very nice scent.

FACE MASK:

Ingredients: Organic Strawberry Powder, Bentonite Clay, Coconut Milk Powder, Pink Kaolin Clay (Kaolin), Oat Flour.

SMELLS AMAZING! Par for course, it seems. This is actually a ‘mix it yourself’ face mask. The directions say to ‘mix 1 tsp water or milk per every 1 tbs of mask’, but I found that that was way too much mask for my face and I ended up rinsing out the extra :(. I found out that if you basically mix 1/3 tsp water with 1 tsp of mask, that it was more than enough. Most masks tend to really dry my face out to an extreme, and this one didn’t. My skin actually felt quite a bit softer after I removed it (10 minutes is plenty), and just used a tiny bit of the citrus zest face cream to balance things out. Mask was easy to remove. Did not irritate my skin. This product also claimed to help with acne breakouts, but I need to use it more extensively to find if this actually helps. I would recommend using it 1-2 times a week.

4.5/5

FACIAL PEEL:

Ingredients: PUMPKIN (CICIRBOTA PEPO), WATER (AQUA), GLYCOLIC ACID, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, BILLBERRY FRUIT EXTRACT (VACCINIUM MYRTILLUS), SUGAR CANE EXTRACT (SACCHARUM OFFICINARUM), SUGAR MAPLE EXTRACT (ACER SACCHARINUM), ORANGE FRUIT EXTRACT (CITRUS AURANTIUM DULCIS), LEMON EXTRACT (CITRUS MEDICA LIMONUM), KOSHER VEGETABLE GLYCERIN, CHAMOMILE ESSENTIAL OIL (MATRICARIA CHAMOMILLA), CINNAMON BARK (CINNAMOMUM CASSIA), GINGER ROOT POWDER (XINGIBER OFFICINALE), ALLSPICE ESSENTIAL OIL (PIMENTA OFFICINALIS), NUTMEG POWDER (MYRISTICA FRAGRANS), METHYL/PROPYL PARABENS, EDTA.

This one smells like a freakin’ pumpkin pie. It’s pretty amazing. This does not require any mixing on your part like the face mask, all you need to do is spread it on in a thin layer. And try not to eat it. Like the page suggests, try it on a patch of skin first as it is 5% glycolic acid. This product claims to ‘resurface and polish skin for a more youthful look and to aid with acne and scaring’… but again, I have not used the product long enough to see if this is true although it did improve my skin’s texture as far as the short term goes. And it felt good.

Would I buy again?

Yes! Fast shipping, good product, nice packaging. Good products for those who struggle with acne or breakouts.

Overall:

/5

—-

Update: I’ve actually talked to the store owner directly now as she is going to do a review of sorts for Geek Chic Cosmetics, and she is very nice!  So 5/5 for customer service.  I just hope she likes our stuff as much as I like hers!

Comments on: "SRSLY: Pink Dandy" (2)

  1. The facial peel sounds nice!

Leave a Reply

