Up and coming things…

Well, I started school this week.  For those who don’t know, I have officially changed my major (and school!) from Music Performance to Emergency Medical Services. Or EMT-Basic, specifically.

Instead of torturing Pokemon, I'll be torturing people.

Well, that’s where I’m starting.  I plan on becoming a full Paramedic.

“Hey, wait a minute!  That job pays shit!  And it’s so stressful! MANGLED BODIES!”

Yeah, I get it.  It’s a pretty hard job and it doesn’t pay as well as it should.  Considering I was going to be a MUSIC TEACHER, this really isn’t much of a change.  Both are undervalued, overworked, and overlooked.  Obviously there are differences (MANGLED BODIES.), but you get the gist.  My EMT Basic teacher said a couple things today that really struck home for me:  “No amount of money will make up for how miserable the job makes you.” It’s a pretty simple concept, but a lot of people don’t get it.  Money will not make you happy.  Most people are so obsessed with money and the happiness it brings that it’s ridiculous.  More, more, more.  Sure, it brings short-term happiness, but not in the long-run.

So stop it!  And do what you love.  Like my teacher said, “If you love digging ditches, dig ditches.”  It really doesn’t matter if the job is ‘glamorous’ or pays well as long as you love doing it.  That is what really matters.

The other thing he said is that people that have that itch to work in Emergency Services will never get rid of that itch.  It’s true.  I’ve wanted to do something in Emergency or Medical Services most of my life.  I only decided on Music mainly because I do love Music and I was good at it.   However, trying to turn it into a career was the worst thing I could have done.  I began to hate it.  I stopped singing.  Stopped playing.  Weirdly enough, as soon as I dropped it as my major and withdrew from the University, I have started playing again.  Starting singing, and I’m even teaching someone else.  I think personally think that turning one’s hobby into a profession can be dangerous.

After I knew I didn’t want to be a music major (and after I got over the fact that I wasted 25,000 dollars on useless classes) I decided to just fucking do it. (Of course, according to the #1 fact of this Cracked.com article I’ll realize in two years I’m being an idiot now and I’ll realize something else is my true calling.)

I’ve just started this, so I don’t have all the answers in what I want to do with my life.  All I know is that this is what I want to do right now, and I’m really enjoying it so far.

SO.

Yeah.  Sorry, I can’t stop watching this either.  You’re welcome.

—-

COMING UP:

  • I’ll review the 3DS
  • Spoiled Rotten review
  • More Dragon Age!
  • More buttons including my custom order! (Which means… more Dragon age.)
Leave a Reply

